Week 9: Marathon Training

Nobody said it would be easy!

I just want to start off with thanking my coach, Andrew Simmons with Lifelong Endurance. I would definitely be slacking off if it weren’t for him. I am so determined to complete all my runs that he lays out for me, and because of this I’ve already noticed huge improvements and surprised myself at what I am capable of.

Though I am still in the early stages of training, I can already see how marathon training not only makes you stronger physically, but mentally. If you can prepare yourself to run 26.2 miles, you can prepare yourself for anything.

[ week 9 / 21 weeks until 26.2ย ]

Sunday – 7 mile run planned.

Due to the crazy storms here, I ran inside on the treadmill (sad face). I did about 3 miles and my muscle in my ankle/calf was just killing me – I had to keep getting off the treadmill to stretch every about .3 miles. I text Coach and asked if I could finish out with swimming.

I think I run weird on a treadmill, plus with treadmills it’s such a pain to stop and stretch (do you leave it running and just hope off? turn it off then have to turn it back on?). I could just feel that the longer I stayed on the treadmill the more this muscle was aggravating me. You know when something just doesn’t feel right…

Anyway, Coach told me to call it – it’s not worth an injury. So, I finished out with some laps in the pool (825 yd). I still feel like I got a great workout – without injuring myself.

IMG_6028IMG_5993

Monday – Easy 3 mile run. 9:32 mi.min, 28:39.

I thought I was going to have to use the treadmill again… it was pouring rain in the morning. Fortunately it stopped and I went outside ASAP to run before it started again. It wasn’t too hot out because of the rain (yay!). My muscles were still sore, but better than yesterday. Way better. I just kept an easy pace.

IMG_6121IMG_6097

Tuesday – Easy 4 miles. 4.2 miles, 39:09, 9:19min/mi.

Hot, hot, HOT run! I was drenched in sweat after this run (sweat is good!). Because of this I had a slight headache afterwards… luckily it wasn’t to bad – sometimes I get terrible headaches after running in the Texas heat. Oh, and that muscle pain from Sunday’s treadmill running was completely nonexistent today (WOOHOO!!!)! That in itself made this a great run no matter how hot it was!

IMG_6205IMG_6208IMG_6209

Wednesday – Easy 3 miles. 3.1mi, 28:31, 9:29min/mi.

Today I had stiff legs/hamstrings to start but stretched after about a half mile and was fine. This run felt good besides the fact that it was SO hot and humid that I was cooking.

IMG_6265IMG_6273

Thursday – 4.46 miles, 40:10, 9:00min/mi.

Ok. Any run before this that I ever said was “hot,” I take it back. THIS RUN was HOT. I didn’t think I’d make it. It was “only” 95 but the heat index was something like 110 because of the humidity. It was suffocating. But I did it. 10 minutes easy, 20 minutes hard, 10 minutes easy. Note to self: run early. My work schedule is kind of crazy right now so I haven’t been going early, but really at the hottest part of the day – noon or 5. Fortunately next week I should be able to run early. I do what I can to avoid treadmills, though, as you may have noticed. Though the air conditioning sure is luring…

I also did a Gold’s Fit (Crossfit) class today and it was great! It was challenging and fun! I’m really loving this class and getting to know people. Everyone is so nice – I’ve even made friends! We did a relay workout today which was fun and different… there’s a pic below with everything we did!

IMG_6364IMG_6369

Friday – Today I did a cycling class (45min) and a run (4 miles, 36:22, 9:06min/mile).

Cycling class was at noon and was amazing. I LOVE my spin classes. I was speedy today and really feeling it. I got an amazing workout and really sweated it out, as always.

I did my run later in the evening – It was extremely hot again but I think I’m getting used to it… kind of… maybe… I think. It went from unbearable to slightly bearable. Overall this run actually felt really great and during my run I was thinking about how much I’ve improved and how this amount of running would’ve seemed near impossible just a few months ago.

IMG_6384IMG_6392

Saturday – Rest day! I’ve decided that on rest days I am going to do yoga. Or at least try to do yoga at some point in the week, 1-2x/week. I always feel so much better afterwards and I think it’ll help stretch and condition my muscles.

I did a one hour Vinyasa Flow Yoga class and it was actually quite challenging. It felt great on my body and, as always, I felt amazing afterwards. It was definitely a great start to my rest day. This was my first time taking this class and I really enjoyed it. So, I’m really happy to start doing some yoga! Yoga is great for runners! and everyone ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_6443

Total miles for the week (running) – 21.76

I hope you all had an amazing week and I look forward to any input you might have! Questions, comments, suggestions… I love them all! I also look forward to catching up on your training and journeys lately! Thanks so much for reading!

13 thoughts on “Week 9: Marathon Training

  1. charlietheweaver says:

    I don’t know how anyone can run on a treadmill. It feels too unnatural to me. It’s also really boring and defeats the point, in my opinion. I think I’d rather just embrace the storm, or not bother.

    Do your sunglasses not bounce around while you run? Also, do you carry a water bottle while you’re running?

    One more thing – and this probably says a lot more about me than you ๐Ÿ˜‰ – the second photo down after Wednesday (where you’re wearing a pink top), if I didn’t know you were a girl, that would look really inappropriate.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jennarunslikeagirl says:

      Hahha I had to look for a sec… yeah, that’s just my shirt blowing in the wind ๐Ÿ™‚ I agree with the treadmill. It feels strange to me, too.
      As for my sunglasses… no, I have never noticed them bouncing around before. Maybe my headband keeps them from doing that. I’ve never really even thought about it.
      And yes, I have been carrying a handheld water bottle lately. I need water on these hot runs and they are easy to grab and go. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Elizabeth C. says:

    Great week of training, despite all of that crazy weather. You were super smart to cut that treadmill run short. I feel like the treadmill really alters your gait and can cause an injury, so the more I can avoid the TM, the better. And wow- that 95-degree run sounds impossibly hot!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. fjnardo says:

    Another great week! I don’t know if I’d survive in that heat but you are a machine! On my rest days, I’m actually starting to incorporate a little yoga as well (Learning about lack of core strength and flexibility!)

    Liked by 1 person

    • jennarunslikeagirl says:

      Well, thank you!! Yeah yoga is really good for you! I hope to gain some flexibility too… I have THE tightest hamstrings in the world… Always have… Glad you’re doing yoga too! I would love to do it more than 1x/wk but with running 6x/wk, biking, swimming, crossfit classes… lol work and life… Well, we shall see lol. ๐Ÿ™‚ thanks for reading, Frank!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. eab0047 says:

    I’ve moved to Texas for the summer and am definitely appreciating the heat you’re talking about! I’m currently inside waiting for it to cool down before I head out for a run. Your workouts each week are impressive. So much dedication!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. hellyontherun says:

    I have to do a ton of treadmill running this marathon cycle but I feel that it really helps with mental strength. The marathon is a beast and really, mentally, is where I think most people struggle. So getting through treadmill runs helps prepare us for that imo, lol!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • jennarunslikeagirl says:

      Same here! (About the treadmill) – I believe you really do use a different set of muscles / have a different stride on the treadmill. I guess some people get used to it but I just prefer the road! It’s nice to have that option, though, for bad weather or other circumstances. Stay cool and good luck this weekend!

      Like

Leave a Reply

