THE Smoothie Recipe!

If you’re a runner, swimmer, weightlifter, or athlete of any kind you may already know the importance of protein consumption during training. Even non-athletes should be getting 0.36 grams of protein per pound of body weight as a bare minimum (according to the American Dietetic Association). This ratio goes up to 1+ gram per pound depending on your physical activity. In saying this – you need to eat protein.

I started my marathon training continuing to eat what I normally do. When I took a moment and listed off the things I ate in a day, I realized I wasn’t eating much protein at all. Lately, I have started using protein powder to supplement and I can definitely tell a difference – not only in my recovery but also in my energy levels. Recovering was taking every bit of energy I had. Now I feel like I have energy and am ready to take on the next workout.

Of course, it’s important to include protein-rich foods in your diet such as eggs, nuts, and fish (my personal favorites). Protein powder, though, is an excellent way to get a quick dose of protein right after a workout, on the go, and as a supplement to make sure you’re getting your daily intake.

Protein powder usually comes in different flavors (such as chocolate and vanilla) and can be ingested in many different ways. There are many different brands and kinds – I personally use and love Glukos protein powder because it’s all natural and while it has 21 grams of protein, it only has 3 grams of sugar and 1 gram of fat (many other protein powder brands out there are loaded with sugar).

There’s always the easy, foolproof way of ingesting protein powder which is just tossing a scoop in water, mix (or shake), and enjoy! Sometimes it’s nice to change it up, though, so I wanted to share my absolute favorite way to enjoy protein. I make this almost daily and always feel incredilby rejuvenated afterwards. (Seriously).

“The Smoothie” (using Glukos Chocolate protein powder)

  • yogurt (strawberry Greek yogurt)
  • frozen mixed berries (blueberries, raspberries, and strawberries)
  • 1 whole banana
  • 1 scoop peanut or almond butter
  • chia seeds (note – this will change the consistency of the smoothie)
  • tablespoon of honey (raw, unrefined)
  • Glukos Protein Powder (Chocolate)
  • Coconut milk (or milk of choice)
  • half handful of Spinach leaves
  • Small scoop of Coconut oil (extra virgin, unrefined)

I know it looks like a lot – and it is – but I fit all of this in a small blender cup. If you have everything handy it doesn’t take much time. If you need to make it quick and simple, though, leave out a few things:

Just the basics (“The Smoothie,” edited):

  • yogurt (strawberry Greek yogurt)
  • frozen mixed berries (blueberries, raspberries, and strawberries)
  • 1 whole banana
  • Glukos Protein Powder (Chocolate)
  • Coconut milk (or milk of choice

Note: This recipe is also delicious with Vanilla protein – I just find myself reaching for Chocolate more often! Cheers to all the Chocolate lovers!

That’s it! A super easy recipe for mixing up the way you enjoy your protein powder. If you try it, let me know how delicious it was! Enjoy!

I started my marathon training continuing to eat what I normally do. When I took a moment and listed off the things I ate in a day, I realized I wasn’t eating much protein at all. Lately, I have started using protein powder to supplement and I can definitely tell a difference – not only in my recovery but in my energy levels. Recovery was taking every bit of energy I had. Now I feel like I have energy and am ready to take on my next workout.

Of course, it’s important to include protein-rich foods in your diet such as eggs, nuts, and fish (my personal favorites). Protein powder, though, is an excellent way to get a quick dose of protein right after a workout, on the go, and as a supplement to make sure you’re getting your daily intake.

Protein powder usually comes in different flavors (such as chocolate and vanilla) and can be ingested in many different ways. There are many different brands and kinds – I personally use and love Glukos protein powder because it’s all natural and while it has 21 grams of protein, it only has 3 grams of sugar and 1 gram of fat (many other protein powder brands out there are loaded with sugar).

There’s always the fool-proof, quick and easy way which is just tossing a scoop in water, mix (or shake), and enjoy! Sometimes it’s nice to mix it up, though, so I wanted to share my personal favorite way to enjoy protein. I make this almost daily and always feel amazingly rejuvenated afterwards. (Seriously).

Smoothie (using Glukos Chocolate protein powder)

  • yogurt (strawberry Greek yogurt)
  • frozen mixed berries (blueberries, raspberries, and strawberries)
  • 1 whole banana
  • 1 scoop peanut or almond butter
  • chia seeds (note – this will change the consistency of the smoothie)
  • tablespoon of honey (raw, unrefined)
  • Glukos Protein Powder (Chocolate)
  • Coconut milk (or milk of choice)
  • half handful of Spinach leaves
  • Small scoop of Coconut oil (extra virgin, unrefined)


I know it looks like a lot – and it is – but I fit all of this in a small blender cup. If you have everything handy it doesn’t take much time. If you need to make it quick and simple, though, leave out a few things:

Just the basics (Smoothie, edited):

  • yogurt (strawberry Greek yogurt)
  • frozen mixed berries (blueberries, raspberries, and strawberries)
  • 1 whole banana
  • Glukos Protein Powder (Chocolate)
  • Coconut milk (or milk of choice

Note: This recipe is also delicious with Vanilla protein – I just find myself reaching for Chocolate more often! Cheers to all the Chocolate lovers!

That’s it! A super easy recipe for mixing up the way you enjoy your protein powder. If you try it, let me know how delicious it was! Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “THE Smoothie Recipe!

  1. asimmons06 says:

    “The Smoothie” (using Glukos Chocolate protein powder)

    yogurt (strawberry Greek yogurt) frozen mixed berries (blueberries, raspberries, and strawberries) 1 whole banana 1 scoop peanut or almond butter chia seeds (note – this will change the consistency of the smoothie) tablespoon of honey (raw, unrefined) Glukos Protein Powder (Chocolate) Coconut milk (or milk of choice) half handful of Spinach leaves Small scoop of Coconut oil (extra virgin, unrefined) I know it looks like a lot – and it is – but I fit all of this in a small blender cup. If you have everything handy it doesn’t take much time. If you need to make it quick and simple, though, leave out a few things:

    Just the basics (“The Smoothie,” edited):

    yogurt (strawberry Greek yogurt) frozen mixed berries (blueberries, raspberries, and strawberries) 1 whole banana Glukos Protein Powder (Chocolate) Coconut milk (or milk of choice

    Glukos is her sponsor but any protein supplement will do!

    Thanks!

    Andrew Simmons Head Coach, Golden Running Academy p: 269-365-7640 s: http://www.goldenrunningacademy.com e: asimmons06@gmail.com

    >

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

