Week 16: Marathon Training

So, I’m back in Texas and still getting back into the swing of things and missing the cool Colorado weather. Even so, it’s always good to be home (though that’s hard to say as sweat is dripping down my face from walking to the mailbox and back).

The fact that I’ll be running 26.2 miles is getting real.

It’s happening.

In 14 weeks. Less than 100 days. That’s a long time, though, right? I have plenty of time!

I got this.

Right?

I’m truly enjoying the training and the challenge. I still worry, though. I mean are people… human beings… even supposed to run that far? People seem to survive. So. There’s that.

One week at a time…

[ week 16 / 14 weeks until 26.2 ]

Sunday – Rest day! I did my long run (10 miles) in Colorado for obvious reasons – beautiful cool weather, breathtaking scenery, not forcing myself to do a long run on zero sleep after driving home to Texas, etc. I had a beautiful, amazing long run and felt extremely accomplished! (deets here)

Monday – I had another rest day scheduled! You know, I’m just now realizing as I write this that it was probably so that I had a day off after my long run. Which I already had yesterday (oops). So, my schedule is a bit out of wack because of one switch-a-roo. I don’t usually switch runs because of this, but things happen. Sometimes you’re just in the mountains and want to run.

I thought about doing a cycling class or some strength training but my body was just telling me to just take the rest day for what it is. With all the runs and hikes last week, I think I just needed that extra day. Rest is part of training, too.

Tuesday – Easy 3 miles. 3.25 miles, 28:44, 8:50 min/mile.

HOT run. Welcome back to Texas! It was 100 degrees. Like, the actual temperature. I took it nice and easy and sweated profusely.

Also did a Gold’s Fit class – it was nice to see my workout buddies and to get some strength training in since I didn’t last week due to traveling. It was a TOUGH class. We did a full body workout – burpees, dumbells, weighted balls, and rowing machines were some of the things involved.

Wednesday – 3 easy miles, 26:54, 8:58 min/mile.

Really had to drag myself out there today, but I did it. With how busy I was this week with catching up on work, workouts, and life – I was pretty drained. Wouldn’t change it for the world, but drained nonetheless. So I got out there and it felt good once I did (as usual). Oh, besides the part when I almost got backed into by a car. Who backs out of their driveway at such speeds?! Luckily I never assume someone sees me and can dodge out of the way pretty quickly.

I must mention that I’ve been working hard to keep the injuries away (strength training, chiro visits, stretching, etc), and it’s done the body good because I feel great on my runs lately – no aches or pains! (KNOCK ON WOOD!)

Thursday – Tempo run. 6 miles, 54:01, 9:00 min/mile.

Today I had an extra long day at work – a long day of moving boxes in a building with no A/C. I didn’t have time to run in the morning, so I had another HOT evening run. If there was one word to sum up this day it was: hot.

I’m always excited for tempo runs, though. (Am I crazy?) I was excited to get out there and just jam out and run. I’m reading in my journal that “it was nice, I was excited for a tempo run but now I’M EXHAUSTED,” as the letters trail off into nothing. So, all-around great but tiring run (and day!).

Friday – Easy 4 miles, 36:34, 9:09 min/mile.

HOT! SERIOUSLY! This time I seriously take back any other time I ever said a run was “HOT.” THIS ONE WAS. I almost wasn’t sure I could do it. It was my own fault because I went at 5:00pm, so the sun had been cooking Dallas, Texas all day long. But! I didn’t have time to go in the morning. If I have to be at work at 6:00am, I won’t go in the morning because I don’t run in the dark due to safety issues and the fact that I don’t have the proper gear for that. But mostly because running in the dark is scary in the city. So I just don’t do it.

The first 2 miles were actually OK, then the last two miles were pretty much unbearable. I had to stop and just wipe off sweat, catch some shade, and remind myself tomorrow’s rest day! a few times.

As I always say, “But, I did it!

Saturday – Rest day! Ready for Sunday RUNday!

So, not an oober-exciting week, but I’ve been working extremely hard and am proud of myself for getting through it. I had a huge project at work and managed to balance training with a lot of life things this week.

Thanks to my coach, Andrew Simmons for all his hard work in creating all of these workouts and for always being there for support and advise. Please feel free to contact him or myself if you have ANY questions about coaching, what it’s like to have a coach, if a coach could be helpful for you… anything!

I hope you all had an amazing week of training, resting, vacationing, or whatever it is that you do!

How many rest days do you have per week?

If you could participate in the Olympics, which sport would you do (if you could pick ANY!)?

What motivates you on days you “just can’t?”

10 thoughts on “Week 16: Marathon Training

  1. fjnardo says:

    Great week and a huge culture shock in weather from CO/TX!

    How many rest days do you have per week?
    I hope to get in 2 per week but inevitably I always still do something!

    If you could participate in the Olympics, which sport would you do (if you could pick ANY!)?
    I’d obviously love to be a sprinter and fight to be the fastest human being on the planet. I’d also love to try volleyball.

    What motivates you on days you “just can’t?”
    Without doubt, my running friends who give me a swift kick!

    Liked by 1 person

    • jennaruns says:

      Awesome!! I’d totally do volleyball in the olympics, too. Yeah I’ve been having 2 as well lately with the longer runs but may do strength training or another miscellaneous workout one of those days… Awesome that you have some good running buddies!! Thanks Frank!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. gr8fuljoy says:

    What motivates you on days you “just can’t?”
    Schedule a run with a friend. To skip, you would let yourself and your friend down. No one wants to do that.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Russ says:

    These days the only rest day is usually monday. I had one of those days last week – had to remind myself I’m training to run really long for charity. Not for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jennaruns says:

      Vet nice. I usually just have Saturday off but have noticed that my long runs are getting longer and I’m having Monday off (day after rest day off) of running as well. It’ll be nice to really rest and do nothing one of those days and use the other day for cross or strength training. Best of luck in your race for charity, that’s a wonderful thing!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Sophie says:

    Another week, another well done, girl! You inspire me!! 🙂 I can’t believe you get out there at 5PM – nuts! Btw, your dog is too cute!

    I have 4 days of running in my program, and I usually do strength training and plyometrics on 2 of my non-running days, so that leaves me with one day of “rest” but I’m an active kind of person so I usually always walk for an hour or 2 or get up to something else to keep my body moving.

    Honestly, I don’t have days where “I just can’t”. But I think that’s because I’ve always ran just for the pure joy of it and it never felt like a task. If I didn’t feel like it, I didn’t do it. That was my attitude. I still always ran 4-6 days a week. Going into my first 1/2 marathon plan, the biggest challenge for me was to back off and not run too often, but rather focus on following the pace and distances set up for me.

    Again, well done! Wishing you an amazing 17th week!

    Liked by 1 person

    • jennaruns says:

      Awesome!!! And thank you, love my pup! I usually am the exact same but with this full marathon training there are some days my body is just tired! I definitely need that rest day (tho I still usually do yoga or something). Well keep up the great work and thanks for the kind words!

      Like

Leave a Reply

