Week 17: Marathon Training

Ok, the weeks are going by incredibly fast! I can’t believe I’m already on week 17!

Training is becoming more and more a routine and a part of me each day. At first, it was a very noticeable change from just working out willy-nilly whenever I wanted to. And since this is my first time actually training for a run, training for a marathon was a HUGE change! I’ve noticed, especially lately, that now its really become a huge part of my life. Even my friends and family know it’s a part of me and that I’m in bed by 9:30 on Saturday nights.

Like they say: Try training for a marathon and it not change your life.

I beginning to know the meaning behind this. The challenge is an amazing thing. Mentally as well as physically.

So, this week I’m finally getting back in the groove of being back in Texas and have been waking up at the crack of dawn (actually, before the crack of dawn) to get my runs in before the sun starts cooking. Early runs have been a bit frantic trying to squeeze them in before work, but it’s been completely worth it – 90 degrees vs. 100+ (yes, it’s still 90 degrees first thing in the morning in Texas).

[ week 17 / 13 weeks until 26.2 ]

Sunday – 8 miles, 1:10:56, 8:53 min/mile.

Today I tried to beat the heat but woke up a little late. I went around 7:30am and it was already 90+ degrees. It wasn’t too bad, though. I was thankful for my hydration pack (the Orange Mud Endurance Pack) and that nothing hurt. The last two miles were tough. The heat really started getting to me – but all was great afterwards.

I also learned a trick from the amazing Runny Legs that you can freeze your Glukos gels, and they are AMAZING. The perfect pick me up for a longer run!


Monday – Rest day (no run).

I did a personal training session at my gym and learned a ton of great strengthening/weight training workouts I can now do on my own. Before today, gym equipment was pretty foreign to me – I mean, I did some weight training in High School track and that’s about it. I’m a cardio feign. Now I feel confident going in and utilizing the machines in order to get the most out of them and build a little more strength in my legs as well as upper body. Strength training is very important and useful for runners!

I also learned from the fancy machine that the trainers have, that I have 13% body fat, my BMI is 20, and all my other numbers are good (not sure what the others were).


Tuesday – 6 miles, 54:01, 9:00 min/mile.

Early morning tempo run! I had a great run today! I actually get super pumped for tempo runs (I’m a crazy person, I know) so I was ready to go! It was also nice going early and not being cooked by the sun. I just had fun with it and jammed out. It felt good.

I also did a Gold’s Fit class later in the evening and we did a lot of arms. Nothing too crazy, though. I wasn’t overly sore afterwards. It was a great class, though, as always. I love the camaraderie, the feeling of working out with friends, and the slight competitive edge to the class. I’m a lone wolf when it comes to running, so it’s nice to do some workouts with other actual people.


Wednesday –  3 miles, 29:00, 9:39 min/mile.

It was really tough to wake up early for my run this morning and I almost didn’t (half-asleep thinking I can do it later…) but then I just imagined how HOT it would be later, and promptly popped out of bed. I’m glad I went early because it was still unbelievably hot. But it’s always better when the sun isn’t beating down.

I also did a lunch time bike ride – my legs were actually a little fatigued from Gold’s Fit yesterday (and the training session on Monday), but I hadn’t done a spin class in a long time so it felt great and I was really feeling the energy of the class. It was fun yet challenging. Just perfect.


Thursday – 5 miles, 47:34, 9:30 min/mile.

Nice run today, it was hard to get up early again (as always), but I was glad to get it done early. Also still hot (again) but better than the afternoon. The last two tenths of mile really got to me, though. I felt like I could just lay down in the middle oft he sidewalk and just take a nap right then and there. But I did it and I felt great afterwards.


Friday – 4 miles, 37:51, 9:27 min/mile.

2 easy miles, 2 @ 8:30 pace. All I can say is I was glad tomorrow would be rest day. I was so tired today – I started my run at about 11 minutes per mile, which is unusual for me because I like to start fast (I usually have to pace myself at the start). I finally woke up and felt like I was going a more “normal” pace. The last mile was especially tough, though. Even though it was 6:00am, it was HOT. and there was NO breeze. I think my body was more than ready for rest day after this run.


Saturday – Rest day!

A much needed rest day. I think it was the perfect amount of time, though, as I woke up feeling great and ready to go for my long run on Sunday.

Total miles for the week (running only) – 26

HUGE shout-out to my coach, Andrew Simmons for prescribing all of these workouts AND for being there for me no matter what! No matter if it’s a running question, or a life question. I don’t know where I’d be without him. Coaches can be beneficial for runners of all ages and stages, and with goals ranging from completing a 5K to winning an Iron Man. If you have any questions about coaching, please reach out to one of us!

I hope you all had an amazing week and start off this week strong!

Do you weight train?

What weight/strength training exercises are your favorite or do you see as most important?

Do you like any specific workout classes?

6 thoughts on “Week 17: Marathon Training

  1. RunTheSix says:

    I don’t know how I didn’t notice this before, but you’re doing a 30 week training plan? How do you not suffer from training fatigue?

    Also, I’m supposed to do strength training in my plan, but I sometimes slack off! I don’t do weight training as I tweaked a joint in my shoulder last year and it caused major issues with my running so I get nervous any time I need to lift weights!

    Liked by 1 person

    • jennaruns says:

      You know, it’s interesting that you mention the 30 weeks – I’ve never trained for an event like this… so I don’t know what the typical training plan is, nor the typical plan length. So, as soon as I registered for this marathon, I figured I’d start training. That’s simply how the 30-week plan ended up happening! As far as training fatigue, I’m trusting my coach and my training on that one! I’m glad I have him or I would probably run into problems like that (that I didn’t even know existed). It’s nice to have a plan and just trust it. I started off slow, so perhaps that’s how I’ll avoid fatigue. For example, my long runs are just now starting to build into the double digits.

      I’m the same way about strength training, which is why I do the class workouts – they help hold me accountable and set a time I need to be there. I hope to add in weight training on my own time at least 1x/week. I know how you feel about being nervous because of an injury – but in my opinion sometimes it can be worse to NOT strengthen that part of your body because it has been injured. For example, my knees used to hurt but now I do squats and other leg movements that I THOUGHT would hurt my knees, but in turn have strengthened them! I would just take it slow! Best of luck in your training!

      Liked by 1 person

      • RunTheSix says:

        OK, this makes sense. If you were building up your speed work and long runs from the beginning, I can see that leading to over training and a risk of injury. Sounds like you’re on the right track! I agree about the strength training; I did it more for my previous marathon and had great results! Good luck the rest of the way!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. fjnardo says:

    Great solid week of hard work in not so ideal conditions. You have an inspirational grasp on your training and it’s obvious. I think it’s time that I actually stopped being stubborn and get a coach!

    Do you weight train?
    Absolutely! It’s pretty much required on my job!

    What weight/strength training exercises are your favorite or do you see as most important?
    Squats, Pushups, Pullups, Planks, and Plyometrics are all musts!

    Do you like any specific workout classes?
    I’m reluctantly starting to like yoga. It’s definitely shown me how weak my core is…

    Like

Leave a Reply

