Review: Pink Aftershokz Trekz Titanium Wireless Headphones

Disclaimer: I received Pink Aftershokz Trekz Titanium Wireless Headphones to review as part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review find and write race reviews!


Is music or your favorite podcast a must-have on runs? Do you like your volume up a little too loud? I personally LOVE jamming out while running. I wouldn’t run without my music. I blast my headphones so loud that the lady walking across the street gives me a strange glare. The downfall is that in doing this I’m unable to hear cars going by or people around me. This is why I opted in to try these headphones. Aftershokz put safety first while allowing you to still hear your music the way you want it. I was skeptical of this at first, but here are my thoughts after testing these bad boys for a few weeks.

My thoughts:

Aftershokz headphones are a completely innovative idea in that they allow you to listen to your music just the way you like it, yet allow for you to hear ambient sounds. The ability to hear what’s going on in your surroundings in extremely important for your safety while running, walking, biking, or really any activity. I live in the city and knew that blaring my old headphones wasn’t a smart idea, but I did it anyway.

My main concern was, will my music be loud enough? If I can still hear car horns and people yelling at me, how will my music possibly be loud enough? I just didn’t think it was going to happen considering the volume at which I enjoy my music. But hey, if it does work, I might just have an extremely essential piece of running gear on my hands!

My other concern was how big of a pain it would be to use Bluetooth. My dad is an avid runner and biker and just despises Bluetooth headphones because they need to be charged, connected, blah blah blah. The apple doesn’t fall far from the tree and I’m thinking they might be a pain.

Well, let me tell you guys. I LOVE the fact that these are wire-free. I still find myself fumbling around to find a cord which doesn’t exist! I didn’t realize how acclimated I had gotten to fumbling around with a cord! I am sincerely blown away at the liberating feeling of wire-free headphones. I know it sounds dramatic, but seriously – I don’t see myself going back to dealing with wires. Ever. Again.

So, to talk about the volume. As mentioned, I thought there was NO WAY these things would be close to loud enough for me. I’m that person that you can hear her headphones from the other room and think “she’ll go deaf!” I know it’s not a good thing, but I like my music loud. Well, these headphones are plenty loud for me. My music is loud but I can still hear my surroundings. It’s still so strange to me, but it really is possible and works. Aftershokz states that they use vibrations and your bone construction in order to make this happen.

“Transducers guide mini vibrations through the cheekbones to the inner ears, delivering sound without plugging or covering them.”

As for setting up the Bluetooth, it’s super easy! You just turn them on and after the first time, it automatically pairs with your phone in a split second (I’m not super familiar with Bluetooth or using it so this made me happy). As for the charge. The charge! This thing continues to prove me wrong. It not only charges quickly, but lasts a long time. I did a full week of runs on one battery charge and it still had “medium battery” (it tells you the battery status: low, medium or high). The only reason I’m even charging it now is because I have a long run tomorrow and don’t want it to die in the middle (though I doubt it would).

I’ve also found the headphones to be comfortable and sweat-proof. They are also very durable and well-made. They have volume, pause, on/off buttons and a charge port without the headphones being bulky.

So, for the specifics. I mentioned it briefly, but the headphones work with your bone structure to deliver sound, rather than blasting in your ears. This is from their website:

“Bone conduction is a natural part of the hearing process—sound travels through our eardrums and bones simultaneously. We’ve taken the concept to the next level through development of a suite of proprietary audio technologies and design patents. The result: headphones that deliver unrivaled situational awareness and comfort.”

Product specifics:

Claim Deliver sound quality, comfort, and awareness
Size One size fits all
Weight Lightweight, 1.27oz.
Frequency response 20Hz~20KHz
Sensitivity 100 ± 3dB
Speaker type bone conduction transducers
Microphone -40dB ± 3dB
Bluetooth version v4.1
Compatible profiles A2DP, AVRCP, HSP, HFP
Wireless range 33 ft (10m)
Battery rechargeable lithium ion
Continuous play 6 hours
Standby time 10 days
Charge in 1.5 hours
Warranty 2 year

Why Pink Aftershokz Trekz Titanium are special: Not only do they allow you to be more aware of your surroundings, but the PINK Trekz are helping to bring education and awareness to breast and ovarian cancer. For every unit sold on aftershokz.com from September 1–October 31, 2016, Aftershokz is donating 25% of the proceeds to @bebrightpink, a non-profit on a mission to promote awareness, and more importantly, life-saving action to women early in life. BONUS: Use code PINK at checkout to receive a free semi-hard storage case (valid for anyone ordering a pair of Bright Pink Trekz Titanium).

Pink Aftershokz Trekz Titanium release date: September 1st

Find Aftershokz here: http://aftershokz.com/

Pink Aftershokz: http://awarewithpink.aftershokz.com/

Bright Pink: https://www.brightpink.org/ 

Aftershokz blog: http://aftershokz.com/blogs/news/five-reasons-why-women-should-see-their-healthcare-provider-today

3 thoughts on “Review: Pink Aftershokz Trekz Titanium Wireless Headphones

    • jennaruns says:

      Thank you! Hope it helped. Yeah, I was happy with my $10 ear buds until now haha! Not having that wire is the best feeling. Even though I was never really extremely bothered with the wires, it really changes my running experience. Hoping these babies last forever!

      Like

Leave a Reply

