Merino Wool BUFF® Review

Disclaimer: I received a Merino Wool BUFF® to review as part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review find and write race reviews!

So, what even is a “BUFF,” you say?

It’s a long tube of awesome.

Ok, but for real. In a nutshell, a BUFF® headwear item is a long tube that fits over your head and is extremely versatile in that it can be worn as a headband, neck warmer, hood, etc. They come in different fabrics ranging from UV protection, to Merino Wool. I’ll be talking and reviewing specifically the Merino Wool BUFF®.

11-28-2016-4-10-04-pm

The facts, straight from the website:

The classic BUFF® headwear shape, but with a few extra inches of length for cozy protection, it features the natural moisture management and odor control properties outdoor enthusiasts love most. Made from soft 100% natural Merino wool, the Merino Wool BUFF® feels great next to the skin, and it keeps you warm even when it’s wet. It’s the soft, breathable extra layer of insulation you need for chilly days. Plus, BUFF® donates 1% of the proceeds from Merino Wool BUFF® to the planet so you can feel warm and fuzzy on the inside too.

  • 100% natural merino wool
  • 12+ ways to wear
  • Merino Wool’s natural qualities include: water repellent, odor resistant, flameproof, durability, UV protection and natural stretch and elasticity
  • Thermal protection from cold & wind
  • Cool in the summer, extra layer of warmth in the winter
  • Semi-seamless — small, unnoticeable seam on top and bottom of Wool BUFF®
  • Quick drying
  • One size fits all adults

Specs

  • Product Dimensions: (approx.) 26.5 x 9.5 inches
  • Weight: 1.7 ounces
  • *Tie dye styles are 3 inches shorter

11-28-2016-4-03-11-pm

I’d say the product stands up to its claims. I live in Texas, so I haven’t needed it for extremely cold conditions, but it’s been perfect for chilly runs and walks. I even wear it as a hood (over my whole head, neck, and mouth) and it’s great for physical activity, because once you warm up, you can slide it down or convert it into a headband! Really, this is probably the most versatile piece of clothing I own.

The material is great – warm, but not thick or suffocating. It still allows air flow. I’d say the material weight is similar to a thin/non-cushioned running sock (not thick or “fluffy”). I have been wearing mine in the Texas winter and have kept warm without getting hot too quickly. I imagine it would be great for colder conditions as well. I will definitely take it with me if I go anywhere up North (or anywhere at all, really). I imagine it’d be a must have if I lived somewhere like Canada…

A major point about the material is that it’s NOT ITCHY. You really wouldn’t guess it was wool (no weird smell or scratchy texture) and it has stretch to it. I have tried other wool clothing items, even some that had rave reviews about being “buttery smooth” or “not itchy at all!” and as soon as I slipped in on… NOPE. It got sent back. I have pretty sensitive skin, so I was impressed when this did not itch one bit (if it did, I wouldn’t have worn it).

I really can’t think of any negative points I’ve had or have about this product. I think that anyone who spends any time outdoors would get a lot of use out of a Merino Wool BUFF®.

Here is is folded in half. My greyhound, Derby, wants one!

2 thoughts on “Merino Wool BUFF® Review

    • jennaruns says:

      Awesome! Yeah, I can imagine it would really be a must have for those in cooler climate areas… it makes a huge difference when you’re not breathing in the freezing cold air. It’s still great here tho since it’s so versatile!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

