Gift Ideas for Runners!

The holidays are (rapidly) approaching… so I thought I’d share a few of my favorite things in case you need inspiration for gifts for a runner in your life, or just gifts for yourself. Let’s face it, runners are getting themselves “gifts” year-round… we need it!

  1. Clif Bloks – energy chews! These are a new favorite. I found them on sale and thought I’d give them a shot. Turns out they are delicious and are easy to carry around. The Bloks come in a pack of 6 and are extremely portable. They could fit in a pocket, belt, or even just toss them in your pants and you’d barely notice they’re there… I got Tropical Punch and really enjoy that flavor (good thing, since I got a case of them…) Just as an “FYI,” some flavors contain more caffeine than others, and some flavors have no caffeine.
  2. Garmin Forerunner 35 – my favorite watch! This is a fairly new Garmin model. You’re going to think I’m crazy – but I went from the Fenix 3 Sapphire to this and am more than happy! Don’t get me wrong, the Fenix is a beautiful watch. But it was just like living in a mansion by myself. It had more features than I ever bothered with. The Forerunner 35 is extremely simple. It’s user friendly (no instructions needed) and does the basics. It also is especially affordable considering it has a built-in wrist HR monitor (which my Fenix did not have while costing 4x as much). I also love how lightweight and sleek it is. I wear it 24-7. This watch does NOT track swimming, though – if that’s important to you.
  3. X31 Sports Running Skirt. I never wear skirts, never wore skirts, and never planned on wearing skirts. I got this in the mail and was taken by surprise. The material is great. The waist band is great. I now find myself wearing it around the house all the time. I can’t wait for it to warm up a bit so I can try running with it. Definitely something fun and different to try if you’re a shorts-gal like me.
  4. Nike Sphere Element Quarter Zip Pullover. Now, I don’t get to wear this running much, living in Texas where winter is a week of 40-degree weather, BUT I have been loving this. As soon as I put it on, I thought, EVERY RUNNER MUST HAVE THIS. If you can find one on sale (the original price of $85 a pop is a bit steep in my opinion), then I’d recommend scooping it up. It has little fuzzy balls lining the inside that will make you never want to take it off. Oh, plus I just love this light/faded purpley color I found it in.
  5. Oiselle Lux Verrazano Bra – HOLY LUX! If you own ONE thing from Oiselle, it shou;d be this bra. It’s like wearing nothing! I don’t know what else to say other than this is, hands down, my absolute favorite bra. For everything. Running, yoga, being alive…
  6. Aftershokz Trekz Titanium Headphones. These are a MUST HAVE for runners, bikers, and anyone that does anything outdoors. They aren’t your typical headphones – they are wireless and they are safe! How? Well, I don’t know all the science of how it works, but they allow you to hear your music AND ambient sounds. They sit on top of your ear. I thought this would effect the sound quality (I like my music loud), but it doesn’t! Listen to your music and stay safe while still hearing cars zooming by or your neighbor shouting at you. If I had to pick only one must-have, this would be it.
  7.  UV Buff. I was only introduced to these this year, and wow. These things are amazing. It’s basically a long tube of cloth, but does oh, so many things! They can be worn in so many ways and are great for keeping warm or protecting yourself from the sun. They also come in lots of colors and patters and are even great for dogs! Don’t forget about the furry runner in your life!
  8. Athletic Greens Superfood Cocktail. I try to eat healthy, and for the most part I do. But, you know… life, time, and other things happen. I like to take a greens supplement every morning just to make sure I’m getting my greens (super important) and to have the ritual of doing something healthy and good for myself first thing in the morning. This is just my ritual and I do feel like it helps with my energy. Athletic Greens is a little on the pricey side, but is like an “all in one” supplement (it even has probiotics!), plus is the only greens I can drink without wanting to vomit everywhere because of the taste.
  9. Brooks Launch 3. This shoe would be even better if it came in narrow widths, but until then I just lace them up tight. I have been on a never-ending search for shoes that work and have finally come across the Brooks Launch as well as the Brooks Adrenaline, which are now my two go-to shoes. The Launch are light-weight “fast” shoes, whereas the Adrenaline are a bit sturdier with more support which is great for longer runs. I’m happy to have found these shoes.
  10. Feetures Merino Wool Cushion socks. I love Feetures! I have many types, but these are my favorite. I had heard that wool was a magic ingredient when it came to socks and it seems to be true. I love these and the fact that they are cushioned yet not bulky. I like the cushioning because I have narrow feet, and do anything to help the shoes fit… but sometimes the cushioning can be too much and make my foot feel suffocated. Not with these!
  11. 2XU Compression Socks. I’ve tried many, many compression socks. These quickly became my absolute favorite. Well, as soon as I tried my first pair. They are SOFT. I never even noticed how un-soft (it’s a word!) other compression socks were until putting these on. They aren’t a pain to take on and off and are just a buttery soft dream. I love them. Oh, and specifically these “Hypotik” ones shown, because of the reflective pieces on the front AND back!
  12. Ultimate Direction AMP Handheld. This handheld water bottle is THE ONLY handheld I will use any more. I think it’s one of those things you either absolutely love or absolutely can’t stand. It’s a soft water bottle (I showed you what just the water bottle looks like next to it). So, as it empties, it deflates… like a bladder. It’s a cloth-y material and straps on to your hand. For me, it’s easy to grip, sip, fill, wash and is just perfection. Trying to grip one of the solid bottles now is just a pain. Plus it has pockets!

Well, I hope this gave you some inspiration and I am glad I could share a few of my favorites with you! What are some of your favorites?

34 thoughts on “Gift Ideas for Runners!

    • jennaruns says:

      Glad you enjoyed it! Yes the headphones are great. I would never normally spend that much on them (they are about $100) but I can tell they will last me forever and that safety issue doesn’t have a price tag – especially running the city streets like I do!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. 50in50marathonquest says:

    When I thought I had just about every running gear item covered in my inventory I think there might be a couple more i need to take a look at based on your post! I’m good on the watch, love my FR235…just tried the full pro-compression socks and totally agree they are awesome…those headphones look really cool though my plantronics backbeats are rocking it right now…that water bottle looks cool though…you should try a hydration backpack for those long distance summer training runs, especially in Texas…happy holidays!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • jennaruns says:

      Awesome!! Sounds like you have a lot of great gear!! Thanks, I actually do have a hydration pack – the Ultimate Direction Adventure Vesta! I love it! It is a female-specific fit (just FYI!) but it is my fav… I have thought of a few more – maybe I’ll do another post with some that I forgot to add 🙂 like arm sleeves! Favorite clothing item for sure… I like the Asics ones, they’re like $6! 😁😊 Thanks for sharing your thoughts! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Joey says:

    Hey Ms Jenna runs how goes it. Your page looks more like a store catalog then a blog:). Ok so you can take one things off Jenna’s Wish List – Joey wishing you a Merry Christmas HA HA. So Merry Christmas to you and your loved ones! Hope the running is going well.Off all social media – It tends to keep me away from work. My doctor has pretty much informed me that my running is over. Although the fusion seems to be on the path to working, there is just to much Degenerative Disc Disease throughout for running. It was difficult to hear, but hey life goes on. I already have a goal to complete the Palm Desert 130 mile bike ride in November of 2018.I do realize 2017 will be a year to recover and accumulate to a new sport. SO don’t think I missed the new look.You smug peeps and your hair.Keep hammering with all those chemicals, and you will all be bald like me LOL. Ok one Blond running joke 🙂 A blonde goes out for a training run. She comes to a river and looks for a bridge or crossing but can’t find any. She spots another blonde on the opposite side of the river. “Excuse me” she shouts, “How can I get to the other side?”
    The second blonde looks up the river then down the river then shouts back, “You’re already on the other side!” HA HA. The LSAT’S went well I think. Have a great holiday and healthy New Year!!!!

    Dr Joey B

    Liked by 1 person

    • jennaruns says:

      Lol! Thanks for the laugh Joey… as always… well I hope you recover well and who knows maybe you will love cycling even more!! Just what happened to my dad and now he rides his bike all the time and loves it. I hope you learn to love it! Thanks for checking in, always great to hear from you. Merry Christmas to you and yours as well and wishing you the best!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. htt573 says:

    Hey Ms Jenna Runs – Happy New Year. Hope the running is going well. I have progressed to the Arc machine at the gym as per medical approval. My back continues to heal…. However, pain is still an issue:(. Thank God I’m the strong silent type – so no complaints HA HA. I’m in Physical Therapy which is really so much fun! I actually look forward to the three a week sessions. Not so sure if my Physical Therapist shares the same sentiment LOL. I admittedly give her a tough time. However, I do disagree with her assessment that it is a different type of therapy that I’m really in need of LOL.( No input from you is required :). SO I do hope you are ready, set, go for a big running year. Sometimes that second marathon is a bit of a let down. We sometimes find it difficult to match that same level of excitement that the first one had.However, being that you’re actually name is Jenna Runs, this problem might elude you :).Stay healthy and make peace with the Ducks this year!!!!. On a serious note, I would try to get a few more 20’s in if you are planning another marathon.I think it will pay off in the late stages of the race.I know – shut up Joey :). It is always difficult to find that balance of long runs that works for us. I pretty much did 15 and 20’s weekly for the better part of the year. Not recommending that for you or anyone else.However, I just found that it worked well for me.On a sad note, one of my running friends unexpectedly passed away from a massive stroke on a run last week.He was only 36 and really lived a very healthy life style. Needless to say it has hit us pretty hard! These things just happen in life. It is a reminder of how we must plan for the future, but enjoy the moment. Ok, take care… I will be watching for that BOGO sale,I really need those compression socks! Is there a bigger discount if I buy them used :).

    Bye for now
    Dr Joey-Yep the title is starting to grow on me LOL.Good thing I’m surrounded by peeps that keep reminding me of what an ass I’m :).

    Liked by 1 person

    • jennaruns says:

      Hey Dr. Joey! Thanks for checking in! Glad you are in PT – and I cannot imagine you giving the PT gal a hard time! 🙂 that just doesn’t sound like you 🙂 I’m sure you are her favorite patient. 🙂 I will definitely get a few more 20s in before another marathon. I hope to get my mileage up in general. I still avoid those crazy ducks. Unfortunately, Texas is so warm that they did not even leave for the winter. Just my luck! So sorry to hear about your friend. It’s sad that these things happen. And I hope the pain subsides in your back. Take care!!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. htt573 says:

    LOL You can still call me Joey – was kidding about the Dr title- I only use it for comic effect. Sad that it is wasted on me.Yea, your luck the Ducks never leave. I’m sure if Dr Dolittle stopped by to get their take on it well… lol. Thanks for the well wishes.I’m coming to terms with the fact that my running is over. Good running

    I will check in again next month!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. htt573 says:

    I mean I have the PhD, but only use it for laughs.I actually had a wallet size made up since people find it difficult to believe I earned one. I guess some would be insulted by that – However, who cares.I’m thinking of smoking a pipe which might make me look more Doctorally lol. Ok take care.I’m actually off to the gym for my 20 minute cardio fix.
    No need to respond – I will carry the burden of keeping in touch LOL.So no decision on the discount on the used compression sox’s :). PS: Purchased a Trek Domane 2.0 Bike so I can start training when the Doc’s and PT peeps give me the ok! My goal is to become her favorite former patient!!!
    Talk next month. Hoping you have a great start to the running year.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jennaruns says:

      Ok I know you don’t want me to respond. But if Dr. Doolittle asked the ducks their opinion… well let’s just say I WAS TRYING to be friendly!!! And hooray for the bike! Dr. Cyclist Joey! I’m sure that’s what they will call you at PT. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. htt573 says:

    Yea sure that’s what they call me at PT LOL.Of course they would say you were trying to be friendly.Just likeThe Big Bad Wolfe with little Red Riding Hood LOL.This conversation does nothing to support my standing in the PhD community LOL :). Now I have to add a Cardigan sweater and pipe to my new look for credibility HA HA!

    Take care, Ms Jenna ran one Marathon :).
    TTY next month.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

