Aftershokz Trekz Titanium Headphones: Q&A!

Disclaimer: I received the Aftershokz Trekz Titanium Headphones to review as part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review find and write race reviews!

The Aftershokz Trekz Titnium Headphones. I know you’ve heard me talk about them. These headphones are 100%, hands down, my favorites. I’ve been using them for about a year now, and agreed to test them again, because, well, I freakin’ love them. I’ve written a few reviews on them:

Aftershokz Trekz Titanium Review (regular size)

Aftershokz Trekz Titanium MINI Review (smaller size)

So, for this review I’ll be doing a little Q&A. I get a lot of questions about these headphones, so here are your answers all in one convenient spot! ๐Ÿ™‚ Of course, if you have other questions, feel free to ask me or visit https://aftershokz.com/.

So, here goes!


Q: Are they adjustable? Will they fit my head?

A: They are not adjustable, but they don’t need to be. They are not made to fit snug to your head. They just go over each ear and hang behind your head. They will fit your head – using the measuring guide on their site you can choose between the regular or mini size. Personally, they both fit my head fine.

7-18-2017 8-23-45 AM

Q: Don’t they bounce around?

A: Nope! Not at all. I thought they would too. It may seem odd at first that they just hang behind your head, but they do not bounce around. In fact, I never even notice they’re there. Totally distraction free!


Q: Are they waterproof?

A: From their site, they are “IP55 certified to repel sweat, dust and moisture, from workouts to wicked weather.” You’re not going to want to wear these scuba diving, but they have withheld my intense Texas-summer-running-sweat (drenched in sweat daily) as well as rain. They’re not fragile.


Q: How long does the battery last?

A: From the website, here are the specs:

  • Battery: rechargeable lithium ion
  • Continuous play: 6 hours
  • Standby time: 10 days
  • Charge in: 1.5 hours

I use these headphones 6 days a week for all my runs, with runs ranging from 30 minutes to two hours, and usually charge them about once a week. I am always surprised by the battery life. There are times I think to myself I haven’t charged these in forever, surely they’re about dead… and sure enough, the Aftershokz voice says “battery high.” How is that possible?! Anyway, no problems here with battery life. Even when they’re low, they charge quickly.

Q: Do you ever have any Bluetooth problems?

Nope! Once you connect your phone to the headphones the first time, they automatically connect. I’ve never once has any issues connecting. Every time I turn them on, they are connected and ready to go. No waiting, no need to open up Settings or push any buttons. Just press the the “on” button and go!


Q: Since they go over your ear, can they be worn with sunglasses? What about a helmet?

Yep. And yep. I wear them with sunglasses practically daily and never notice an issue. I got a pair for my dad (because everyone needs a pair) and he cycles daily. So, he wears a helmet with them and has reported back to me that he has had zero problems.


Q: Why don’t they go in your ear? Doesn’t that effect the sound quality?

Ok! This is the best part. And the reason why these headphones are the best. Not only are they easy, comfortable, convenient, and wire-free… they help you stay SAFE. These headphones don’t jam into your ear hole like ear buds. They use bone conduction technology and sit on top of your ear to produce sound, that way you can listen to your music, podcast, etc. while STILL being able to hear surrounding traffic and screaming neighbors. So, they sit on top of your ear so that you can hear ambient sounds. This, surprisingly, does NOT effect the sound quality! I totally thought it would (in fact, I thought I’d HATE these headphones, now look at me…) I can still jam out to Missy Elliott and feel safe running on city streets. They sound great.

7-18-2017 8-22-30 AM

Alright! There you have it. My own personal Aftershokz Trekz Titanium FAQ. PLEASE ask me more questions! I love being an advocate for these headphones because it is so important to be able to hear and be aware of your surroundings while running, biking, hiking, whatever you do. Your safety is worth it!

If you purchase a pair of Aftershokz Trekz Titanium, use code FREECASE for a free hard case (great for holding little bobbles!)

7-18-2017 8-25-35 AM

2 thoughts on “Aftershokz Trekz Titanium Headphones: Q&A!

  1. 50in50marathonquest says:

    I only got mine yesterday but looking forward to checking these out – i’m encouraged by the positive reviews I’ve seen already!

    Like

Leave a Reply

