Review: adidas UltraBOOST X

Disclaimer: I received a pair of adidas UltraBOOST X as part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review find and write race reviews!

What are the adidas UltraBOOST X?

From their website:

Amp up your run with the adidas® Women’s Ultra Boost X running shoe. Designed with unique energy-returning boost™ technology, this technical running shoe features 20% more boost cushioning material than ever before. STRETCH WEB® technology allows for flexibility and unleashes the boost™ responsiveness upon impact. Reinvent yourself and your run with the ultra-new, ultra-light, adidas® Ultra Boost X.

TECHNOLOGY:

  • Energy-returning boost™ technology in the midsole to provide lightweight cushioning

FEATURES:

  • Engineered mesh in upper for maximum breathability
  • Synthetic midfoot overlay for durability
  • Molded heel counter for added stability
  • Bootie construction wraps the foot and provides support
  • Rubber outsole has a grippy texture for better traction

They are a neautral shoe and have a 10mm hell-toe drop. This shoe is also a female-only model of the UltraBOOST.

Upon receiving the shoes, I opened the box and was just taken away with the beauty! These shoes are easy on the eye, that’s for sure. This is definitely not a factor when deciding on a pair of running shoes (function trumps form in this situation) BUT when they look good, it’s always a huge bonus!

The material is soft – durable but sock-like, with the exception of the sturdy “cage” around the arch. They are really lightweight too and have an interesting appearance because of the “un-attached” arch.

Upon first try-on, they felt a bit odd. They were easy to slip on (I have narrow feet), and just didn’t feel like “shoes.” I then laced them up and knew immediately that I’d like them. They just felt completely natural. I had plenty of room in the toe-box, yet they fit securely on my foot. The “un-attached” arch just allowed for natural foot movement. The soles feel like the perfect mixture of cushion and response. They’re the kind of shoes I just didn’t even notice on my feet!

So, the important part – how did they feel while running? Again, very natural (yay!). On my very first run in them, I just felt like I could’ve run forever in them. Of course, I like to get used to new running shoes gradually, so I did an easy 3 miles to start, but with no issues whatsoever. My feet felt “free” in them. My first impression was that they were lightweight, responsive, extremely breathable, and just plain natural feeling! No rubbing anywhere, no weird lumps or arch issues – just simple shoes with an amazing natural feel.

I’ve logged 30-40 miles in them so far, and understand this may not be enough for you to consider me credible, so I will post any updates to the bottoms of this blog. So far, though, I’ve had absolutely no problems – the shoes fit wonderfully, feel natural and responsive, and seem to be very durable. I hope to get 300-500 miles out of them and at this point plan to use them mainly for short runs/tempo runs due to their light weight.

These will be PERFECT for Texas summers, or anywhere where you can use any help you can get staying cool. I imagine they wouldn’t be ideal for rainy runs, keeping in mind the sock-like upper. Though I suppose the up-side would be that they’d dry out quickly! These shoes seem like they’re designed for road running (vs trail) and work for me, someone with an average arch, neutral runner, long narrow foot.

For reference, other shoes I’ve enjoyed and run in: Brooks PureFlow 2, Saucony Kinvara 7, Asics Nimbus 18 & 19, New Balance Zante v2, Nike Pegasus 33, Nike Zoom Vomero 11 & 12. I would compare this or say it’s “most similar to” a specific shoe, but I truly believe it’s a breed of it’s own. I’m very glad that I was able to give them a chance – it’s usually very difficult for me to find running shoes that fit and feel natural, so I am extremely pleased with the adidas UltraBOOST X!

Where to buy adidas UltraBOOST X: https://www.dickssportinggoods.com/p/adidas-womens-ultra-boost-x-running-shoes-17adiwltrbstxblkbrnn/

Have you tried any of the adidas UltraBOOST running shoes?

2 thoughts on “Review: adidas UltraBOOST X

Leave a Reply

